» » The Pop Group - Y

The Pop Group - Y album flac

The Pop Group - Y album flac
  • Performer: The Pop Group
  • Title: Y
  • Genre: Electronic / Rock
  • Country: UK
  • Date of release: 1996
  • Music style: Leftfield, Punk, Experimental
  • MP3 size: 1757 mb
  • FLAC size 1639 mb

Y is the debut studio album of English post-punk band The Pop Group. The album was produced by dub musician Dennis "Blackbeard" Bovell at Ridge Farm Studios in Surrey, and was released on 20 April 1979 through Radar Records. Pitchfork Media ranked it at number 35 on its list of The Top 100 Albums of the 1970s. The Wire included it in its list of "The 100 Most Important Records Ever Made.

The Pop Group are an English band formed in Bristol in 1977 by vocalist Mark Stewart, guitarist John Waddington, bassist Simon Underwood, t Gareth Sager, and drummer Bruce Smith. Their work in the late 1970s crossed diverse musical influences including funk, free jazz and dub with radical politics, helping to pioneer post-punk music.

The Pop Group forged a rare and beautiful amalgam of punk, funk, dub, free noise and art-pop, possibly only exceeded in quality by The Homosexuals or (early) Chrome (but they were US). Amazing to think they were still in their teens when they cut this masterpiece. Appointing the reggae/ dub genius Dennis Bovelle as producer was an absolute master-stroke - sending an already fabulously visionary sound into completely hitherto uncharted sonic territory. Nobody - not even The Pop Group could follow this one up (the 2nd album isn't so good imo). The cd version of Y adds the essential single She Is Beyond Good and Evil with its avant-dub b-side 3'38". I hesitate to end on a negative note - but I mark the Pop Group down very slightly due to the employment of some very dodgy lyrics; "soldiers march through your eyes" or "like a dancing flame on a bed of nails" indeed. Reply Notify me 3 Helpful.

The Pop Group are a British post-punk band from Bristol, England, formed in 1978, whose dissonant sound spanned punk, free jazz, funk and dub reggae. Their lyrics were often political in nature. Y is their debut studio album. It was released on 20 April 1979, through record label Radar. In 2004, Pitchfork Media ranked Y at number 35 on its list of the greatest albums of the 1970s. Internet rock music historian Piero Scaruffi ranks Y as the 23rd greatest rock album ever.

The Pop Group discography. The Pop Group discography. The discography of English post-punk band The Pop Group consists of three studio albums, one live album, two compilation albums, three singles and four music videos. YouTube Encyclopedic.

Features Song Lyrics for The Pop Group's Y album. 8. Don't Sell Your Dreams Lyrics. The Pop Group Lyrics provided by SongLyrics. Lyricapsule: The Surfaris Drop ‘Wipe Out’; June 22, 1963. RIFF’d: Nas’ ‘Nasir’. Lyricapsule: The Byrds Drop ‘Mr. Tambourine Man’; June 21, 1965.

Bands like The Pop Group or Gang of Four or Talking Heads struck the reminiscents of the scene with and even more strange and somehow rebellious attitude (this time driven towards music, and music alone). With Y, the british band set their names among the greatest of the period, with an album that drew direct influences from early 70s. 2. 3y. Razzle Dazzle.

The Pop Group are a post-punk band which formed in 1977 in Bristol, England. They consisted of Mark Stewart (vocals), John Waddington (guitar), Gareth Sager (guitar), Simon Underwood (bass) and Bruce Smith (drums). The band reformed in 2010 for a reunion tour. In November 2014, the Pop Group announced that they would release an album of new material titled "Citizen Zombie" on 23 February 2015. The album was produced by Paul Epworth.

Gareth Sager in conversation with Turn Up The Volume. On Jean Cocteau, Beethoven, Frank Zappa, his solo piano album '88 Tuned Dreams', future plans & more. Freaks R Us. 10 Questions About ’88 Tuned Piano Dreams’ For All-Around Composer And Multifaceted Musician.


1 She Is Beyond Good And Evil 3:23
2 Thief Of Fire 4:36
3 Snowgirl 3:22
4 Blood Money 2:58
5 We Are Time 6:29
6 Savage Sea 3:03
7 Words Disobey Me 3:27
8 Don't Call Me Pain 5:36
9 The Boys From Brazil 4:16
10 Don't Sell Your Dreams 6:41

Companies, etc.

  • Phonographic Copyright (p) – WEA International Inc.
  • Copyright (c) – Radarscope Records Ltd.
  • Manufactured By – WEA Japan
  • Distributed By – Warner Music Japan Inc.
  • Recorded At – Ridge Farm Studios
  • Published By – Copyright Control


  • Directed By [Director] – Disc O'Dell
  • Engineer – Mike Dunne
  • Engineer [Assistant] – Brian Gaylor
  • Performer – Bruce Smith, Gareth Sager, John Waddington, Mark Stewart, Simon Underwood
  • Photography By – Ian Denning
  • Photography By [Front] – Donald McCullin
  • Producer – Dennis Blackbeard Bovell*
  • Producer, Written-By – The Pop Group
  • Sleeve – Malcolm Garrett, Rich Beale


℗ 1979 WEA International Inc.
© 1996 Radarscope Records Ltd

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Rights Society: JASRAC
  • Barcode (Printed on obi): 4 943674 072224
  • Barcode (Scanned from obi): 4943674072224
  • Matrix / Runout: WPCR-722 3MS1 C 32
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 1): WPCR-722 P04
  • Mastering SID Code (Variant 1): IFPI L711
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 1): IFPI 1823
  • Other (On back cover): UPC#0630-14003-2

Other versions

Category Artist Title (Format) Label Category Country Year
RAD 20 The Pop Group Y ‎(LP, Album) Radar Records RAD 20 UK 1979
RAD 20 The Pop Group Y ‎(LP, Album) Radar Records RAD 20 UK 1979
RAD 20 The Pop Group Y ‎(LP, Album, RE, Unofficial) Radar Records RAD 20 2014
PRO SCAN 14 The Pop Group Y ‎(CD, Album, Promo, RE) Radar Records PRO SCAN 14 Europe 1996
RAD 20 The Pop Group Y ‎(LP, Album) Radar Records RAD 20 New Zealand 1979

MP3 albums Related to The Pop Group - Y
Contacts | Privacy Policy | DMCA
All rights reserved.
drake-tickets.org © 2016-2019