» » Nick Lowe - Jesus Of Cool

Nick Lowe - Jesus Of Cool album flac

Nick Lowe - Jesus Of Cool album flac
  • Performer: Nick Lowe
  • Title: Jesus Of Cool
  • Genre: Rock
  • Country: UK
  • Date of release: 2008
  • Music style: New Wave, Power Pop
  • MP3 size: 1136 mb
  • FLAC size 1970 mb
  • Formats AC3 MP3 DXD DTS MPC AU VOX

It was originally written and recorded for the last Brinsley Schwarz album It’s All Over Now, which was never officially released. It next appeared as a non-album B-side on the single "Little Hitler". This is now known as the "original" or "slow" version, as compiled on Lowe’s 1999 box set The Doings. It was also added on the Jesus Of Cool reissue as "Cruel To Be Kind (Original Version)". Track B4 is misspelled "Marie Provest" on center label, and A2 misnamed "I Like The Sound Of Breaking Glass". Publisher: Rock Music Comp

Album Name Jesus of Cool. Data de lançamento Março 1978. Labels Radar Recording Demon Records. Membros têm este álbum1. 2. I Love the Sound of Breaking Glass.

Lowe's album Labour of Lust received a gold certification in Canada in November 1979. Other well-known Lowe songs include "All Men Are Liars" and "Cruel to Be Kind", co-written with Ian Gomm and originally recorded with Brinsley Schwarz for their unreleased final album It's All Over No. The re-issue includes tracks from the British and American releases in addition to several bonus tracks.

Nick Lowe's debut album Jesus Of Cool (titled Pure Pop For Now People in The US) is one of the true underappreciated gems in music history. Nick Lowe's JESUS OF COOL is one of the great albums of the 70's and one of the best examples of the "pub rock" sound that developed in England as A cousin to punk. Pub rock was more of a throwback to superior musicianship and lyrics that focused more on being clever than confrontational and Lowe captures the joys of the sound perfectly on this recording. Lowe's work on Jesus of Cool tends to reflect back musically to the pre-psychedelic 1960s, but his lyrics reflect the pub-rock/punk-rock 1970s.

Back home, Nick’s first solo album, Jesus Of Cool, is due out imminently, which explains circuitously why Nick is, of all places, here. At the time, after all, he’s close to some of the very best things happening in British music. NICK LOWE: It’s ludicrous – they put out records called ‘Fuck The Police’ but they thought Jesus of Cool would offend people. The alternative title was a Stiff slogan. How did you record the album? I was living in the studio producing other people for Stiff and when I had an idea, we recorded it with whoever was around.

Redirected from Little Hitler (song)). Jesus of Cool is the solo debut album by British singer-songwriter Nick Lowe.

Tracklist Hide Credits

The Original Album:
1 Music For Money
Drums – Steve GouldingGuitar, Bass, Backing Vocals – Nick Lowe
2 I Love The Sound Of Breaking Glass
Bass – Andrew BodnarDrums – Steve GouldingGuitar, Backing Vocals – Nick LowePiano – Bob AndrewsTambourine, Backing Vocals – Roger Bechirian
3 Little Hitler
Bass, Guitar [Solo], Backing Vocals – Nick LoweDrums – Pete ThomasGuitar [Rhythm], Backing Vocals – Dave Edmunds
4 Shake And Pop
Bass – Andrew BodnarDrums – Steve GouldingGuitar [Lead] – Larry WallisGuitar [Rhythm] – Nick LowePiano – Bob Andrews
5 Tonight
Acoustic Guitar, Backing Vocals – Dave EdmundsBass – Nick LoweDrums – Pete ThomasGuitar [Solo] – John McFee
6 So It Goes
Drums – Steve GouldingGuitar, Bass – Nick Lowe
7 No Reason
Bass – Andrew BodnarDrums – Steve GouldingGuitar – Martin Belmont, Nick LowePiano, Organ – Bob Andrews
8 36 Inches High
Bass – Andrew BodnarDrums – Steve GouldingGuitar – Martin Belmont, Nick LowePiano, Organ – Bob AndrewsWritten-By – J. Ford*
9 Marie Provost
Backing Vocals – Dave EdmundsDrums – Steve GouldingGuitar, Bass, Piano – Nick LoweOrgan – Roger Bechirian
10 Nutted By Reality
Bass – Norman Watt-RoyDrums – Charley CharlesGuitar [Lead] – John TurnbullGuitar [Second], Backing Vocals – Nick LowePiano – Steve Nieve
11 Heart Of The City (Live)
Bass – Nick LoweDrums – Terry Williams Guitar – Billy Bremner, Dave EdmundsMixed By – Dave Edmunds, Nick Lowe
And More:
12 Shake That Rat
Bass [Lead], Guitar [Rhythm] – Nick LoweDrums – Bobby Irwin, Steve Goulding
13 I Love My Label
Drums – Bobby IrwinGuitar, Bass, Piano [Solo] – Nick LoweOrgan – Stan Shaw
14 They Called It Rock
Bass – Nick LoweDrums – Terry Williams Guitar, Backing Vocals – Billy Bremner, Dave Edmunds
15 Born A Woman
Drums – Steve GouldingGuitar, Bass – Nick LoweWritten-By – M. Sharp*
16 Endless Sleep
Noises [Senior Service Cigarette Lit By Swan Vesta Match], Guitar [Fender Telecaster], Bass Drum [Cardboard Box Struck By Cider Bottle (Possibly Bulmer's)] – Nick Lowe
17 Halfway To Paradise
Backing Vocals – Dave EdmundsBass – Nick LoweDrums – Pete ThomasGuitar – Larry WallisPiano – Steve NieveWritten-By – C. King, C. Goffin*
18 Rollers Show
Bass – Johnny CiambottiDrums [Possibly] – Mickey Shine*Featuring – Clover Guitar – John McFeeKeyboards – Sean HopperPerformer [Recorded As] – The Tartan Horde*Recorded By, Mixed By – Vic KearyVocals – Terry Modern
19 Cruel To Be Kind (Original Version)
Bass – Nick LoweDrums – Billy Rankin Guitar – Brinsley Schwarz , Ian GommOrgan – Bob AndrewsRecorded By, Mixed By – Vic Maile
20 Heart Of The City
Drums – Steve GouldingGuitar, Bass – Nick Lowe
21 I Don't Want The Night To End
Bass – Nick LoweDrums – Pete ThomasGuitar – Larry Wallis

Companies, etc.

  • Record Company – Proper Records Ltd.
  • Phonographic Copyright (p) – Nick Lowe Ltd.
  • Copyright (c) – Nick Lowe Ltd.
  • Licensed To – Proper Records Ltd.


  • Mastered By [Originally] – George "Porky" Peckham*
  • Mastered By [Remaster] – Vic Anesini
  • Mixed By – Roger Bechirian (tracks: 1, 2, 9)
  • Producer – Jake Riviera (tracks: 6, 20), Nick Lowe
  • Recorded By – Barry "Bazza" Farmer* (tracks: 1, 2, 9)
  • Recorded By, Mixed By – Barry "Bazza" Farmer* (tracks: 6, 12 to 17, 20, 21), Roger Bechirian (tracks: 3 to 5, 7, 8, 10)
  • Reissue Producer – Gregg Geller
  • Written-By – A. Bodnar* (tracks: 2), B. Bremner* (tracks: 14), D. Edmunds* (tracks: 3, 14), I. Gomm* (tracks: 19), N. Lowe* (tracks: 1 to7, 9 to 14, 16, 18 to 21), Profile (tracks: 13), S. Goulding* (tracks: 2), T. Modern* (tracks: 18), T. Williams* (tracks: 14)


Mastered on October 2, 2007, New York City.

Proper Records Ltd.
℗ & © 2008 Nick Lowe Ltd.
Issued under exclusive license to Proper Records Ltd. for sales throughout the world excluding the USA and Canada.
Made in the Czech Republic

Track 18: Terry Modern with Clover, recording as The Tartan Horde.

"Jesus Of Cool" was released as Radar (UK) RAD 1 in March 1978 and peaked at # 22 in Music Week a month later. It's American counterpart, "Pure Pop For Now People", was released as Columbia (US) JC 35329, also in March 1978, and peaked at # 127 on the Billboard Album Chart in the following month.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (String): 805520039994
  • Barcode (Text): 8 05520 03999 4
  • Matrix / Runout: [GZ Media logo] TB1601 CHOSEN1
  • Mastering SID Code: IFPI LD02
  • Mould SID Code: IFPI 5J17

Other versions

Category Artist Title (Format) Label Category Country Year
RAD 1 Nick Lowe Jesus Of Cool ‎(LP, Album) Radar Records RAD 1 UK 1978
FIEND CD 131 Nick Lowe Jesus Of Cool ‎(CD, Album, RE) Demon Records FIEND CD 131 UK 1989
PC 35329 Nick Lowe Pure Pop For Now People ‎(LP, RE) Columbia PC 35329 US 1983
56 466 Nick Lowe Jesus Of Cool ‎(LP, Album, TP) WEA Filipacchi Music 56 466 France 1978
YP2620 Nick Lowe Jesus Of Cool ‎(2xLP, Album, RE, Red) Yep Roc Records YP2620 US 2008

MP3 albums Related to Nick Lowe - Jesus Of Cool
Contacts | Privacy Policy | DMCA
All rights reserved.
drake-tickets.org © 2016-2019