» » Geoffrey Oryema - Exile

Geoffrey Oryema - Exile album flac

Geoffrey Oryema - Exile album flac

Geoffrey Oryema ‎– Exile. Label: Real World Records ‎– CDRW14, Real World Records ‎– CD RW 14. Format: CD, Album. Backing Vocals – Brian Eno (tracks: 1, 2, 6), Geoffrey Oryema (tracks: 4), Michelle Newbury (tracks: 4), Peter Gabriel (tracks: 2). Bass – David Bottrill (tracks: 4, 6, 10), Geoffrey Oryema (tracks: 3, 9).

Exile is Ugandan artist Geoffrey Oryema's debut album. It was produced by Brian Eno at Real World Studios and released in September 1990. Exile designates Oryema himself who had to escape his country after his father was assassinated in 1977, during the rule of Idi Amin. Many of the songs contain nostalgia about the land and the people Oryema had to leave. Peter Gabriel provides backing vocals for tracks 2 and 4. David Bottrill was co-producer and played the percussion. Studio album by. Geoffrey Oryema.

Piny Runa Woko, 03:51. Piri Wango Iya, 02:37.

LP (12" album, 33 rpm). Geoffrey Oryema Format: Vinyl. Produced by Brian Eno at Real World Studios, the 1991 classic Exile introduced the world to the struggles of singer-songwriter Geoffrey Oryema, exiled from Uganda at a young age after the suspicious death of his government minister father during the bloody rule of Idi Amin. Oryema's songs are a resilient riposte to a life forced upon him, as well as an unconfined celebration of the culture of his homeland.

This album has an average beat per minute of 121 BPM (slowest/fastest tempos: 80/152 BPM). See its BPM profile at the bottom of the page. Album starts at 152BPM, ends at 81BPM (-71), with tempos within the -BPM range. Try refreshing the page if dots are missing). Recent albums by Geoffrey Oryema. 1. Album – Album, is a collection of audio recordings issued as a single item on CD, record, audio tape, or another medium. Albums of recorded music were developed in the early 20th century, first as books of individual 78rpm records, vinyl LPs are still issued, though in the 21st century album sales have mostly focused on compact disc and MP3 formats.

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Piny Runa Woko
Backing Vocals – Brian EnoPercussion – David BottrillVocals, Harp [Nanga] – Geoffrey Oryema
2 Land Of Anaka
Backing Vocals – Peter GabrielKeyboards [Yamaha DX7 And CS80], Piano, Backing Vocals – Brian EnoTin Whistle – Richard Evans Vocals, Guitar – Geoffrey Oryema
3 Piri Wango Iya
Percussion – David BottrillVocals, Mbira [Lukeme], Bass – Geoffrey Oryema
4 Ye Ye Ye
Backing Vocals – Michelle NewburyBass, Drums – David BottrillOrgan [Fake Organ] – Peter GabrielSlide Guitar – David RhodesVocals, Acoustic Guitar, Shaker, Backing Vocals – Geoffrey Oryema
5 Lacan Woto Kumu
Vocals, Harp [Nanga], Percussion – Geoffrey Oryema
6 Makambo
Backing Vocals [Backing Vocal Texture] – Brian EnoBass, Drum [Hairy Drum] – David BottrillDrums [Brushes] – Richard BlairVocals, Guitar – Geoffrey Oryema
7 Jok Omako Nyako
Vocals, Mbira [Lukeme], Shaker – Geoffrey Oryema
8 Solitude
Guitar [Guitar Texture] – Richard BlairTwelve-String Guitar – David RhodesVocals, Acoustic Guitar – Geoffrey Oryema
9 Lubanga
Shaker [Senegalese Shakers] – David BottrillVocals, Mbira [Lukeme], Bass – Geoffrey Oryema
10 Exile
Bass – David BottrillElectric Guitar – David RhodesVocals, Guitar, Djembe, Finger Cymbals – Geoffrey Oryema

Companies, etc.

  • Manufactured By – Virgin Records Ltd.
  • Distributed By – Virgin Records Ltd.
  • Phonographic Copyright (p) – Real World Records Ltd.
  • Marketed By – Virgin Records Ltd.
  • Copyright (c) – Real World Records Ltd.
  • Copyright (c) – Virgin Records Ltd.
  • Published By – Womad Music Ltd.
  • Published By – Opal Music
  • Recorded At – Real World Studios
  • Mixed At – Real World Studios
  • Glass Mastered At – Sonopress – D-6611
  • Designed At – Assorted Images


  • Co-producer – David Bottrill
  • Design – Helen Jones
  • Design Concept [Series Identity] – Garry Mouat
  • Engineer [Assistant] – Richard Blair
  • Engineer, Mixed By – David Bottrill
  • Photography By – Francis Drake , OSF*
  • Producer – Brian Eno
  • Written-By – Brian Eno (tracks: 2), Geoffrey Oryema


Recorded and mixed at Real World Studios, England. Digitally edited on the Real World Tablet.

℗ 1990 Real World Records Ltd.
© 1990 Real World Records Ltd./Virgin Records Ltd.
Made in West Germany

Italian distribution added 3-panel flyer resuming Real World catalog 'til May '92.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (text): 5 012985 001427
  • Other: F : PM 520
  • Label Code: LC 3098
  • Matrix / Runout: SONOPRESS D-6611 / CDRW14 A

Other versions

Category Artist Title (Format) Label Category Country Year
CDRW14, CD RW 14 Geoffrey Oryema Exile ‎(CD, Album) Real World Records, Real World Records CDRW14, CD RW 14 Europe 1990
CDRWG14, CD RW 14 Geoffrey Oryema Exile ‎(CD, Album, RE) Real World Records, Real World Records CDRWG14, CD RW 14 Europe 2012
RWMC14 Geoffrey Oryema Exile ‎(Cass) Real World Records RWMC14 Europe 1990
91629-2 Geoffrey Oryema Exile ‎(CD, Album) Real World Records 91629-2 US 1990
V2 0777 7 86220 2 4 Geoffrey Oryema Exile ‎(CD, Album) Real World Records V2 0777 7 86220 2 4 Canada 1990

MP3 albums Related to Geoffrey Oryema - Exile
Contacts | Privacy Policy | DMCA
All rights reserved.
drake-tickets.org © 2016-2019